The Courts of the Republic of Ireland

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The Courts of the Republic of Ireland

Post  be_map1512 on Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:15 am

The Courts of the Republic of Ireland consist of the Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeal, the High Court, the Circuit Court and the District Court. The courts apply the laws of Ireland. Ireland is a common law jurisdiction and trials for serious offences must usually be held before a jury. The High Court and the Supreme Court have authority, by means of judicial review, to determine the compatibility of laws and activities of other institutions of the state with the constitution and the law. Except in exceptional circumstances, court hearings must occur in public.

Office Storage Cabinets
corporate video


Posts : 229
Join date : 2011-02-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum